Harder, Faster, Farther….

Ever find your life ironic? You know, coincidences, things occurring, that are so related, they simply cannot, should not, be ignored?

I fell…hard, fast, & far.

Harder, Faster, Farther….

I love music. The meanings behind the words, that speak to my heart. The way the melodies cause my body to move. I’ll be honest though…rarely is the beat of the music enough to cause a song to become a new favorite. It is the words, the lyrics, that pull me in. At times, many times, I find myself getting lost in my favorite songs. And, I have a lot of them. Favorite songs.

I do have a point. I am getting there. I Promise.

A song I really enjoy is called Who You Are, by Unspoken. It is a Christian song. I just shared how it is lyrics that catch my attention. And yet, I loved this song without fully realizing the words behind the song. Funny…perhaps my subconscious was the one paying attention. Just the other day, (in my shower, I might add. I have the best thoughts in my shower!!), I listened to this song. I mean, really listened to it. And, you know what…its’ lyrics have deep meaning for me.

 

Harder, Faster, Farther….

The chorus to this song…..

You can never fall too hard

So fast, so far 

That you can’t get back

When you’re lost



The lyrics in their entirety….

I know that look you’re giving,

Like you’ve got something to prove

‘Cause I have walked for miles and miles

In that same pair of shoes

You refuse forgiveness

Like it’s something to be earned

Sometimes pain’s the only way that we can learn

You can never fall too hard, 

So fast, so far 

That you can’t get back

When you’re lost

Where you are is never too late, 

So bad, so much 

That you can’t change 

Who you are, ooo-oooh 

You can change who you are, ooo-oooh 

You believe in freedom,

But you don’t know how to choose

You gotta step out of your feelings

That you’re so afraid to lose

And everyday

You put your feet on the floor, you gotta walk through the door

It’s never gonna be easy

But it’s all worth fighting for

You can never fall too hard, 

So fast, so far 

That you can’t get back

When you’re lost

Where you are is never too late, 

So bad, so much 

That you can’t change 

Who you are, ooo-oooh 

You can change who you are, ooo-oooh

So let the ashes fall wherever they land

Come back from wherever you’ve been

To the foot of the cross

To the feet of Jesus, 

The feet of Jesus

You can never fall too hard, 

So fast, so far 

That you can’t get back

When you’re lost

Where you are is never too late, 

So bad, so much 

That you can’t change 

At the foot of the cross

You can change, yeah

Who you are, at the foot of the cross

You can change, yeah

(Who you are)

You can change who you are, ooo-oooh

You can change, ooo-ooohooo-oooh

The video to listen to the song, should you choose to….

Ever feel Lost?

What about Lonely?

Do you feel Afraid? Right now, in this very moment?

How about Uncertain? Wonder where your life is going to take you?

Well, guess what…

The Lord. He is my protector. He is yours also. He is the one who watches over me. And you too. He is the one who cares for me, and you. Who helps me. His help extends to you as well. He guides me. He wants to guide you too. Who sees me through. He sees everyone through. He is the one. The One and Only.

I did fall Harder, Faster, and Farther. I believe He knows it. I believe that He knew it would happen. And, as I find myself hurting, and in pain, and trying to work through it, that He is the one to help me. If I turn to Him, He can help me to find peace. He can help me to find me again. It’s never too late to change who you are…with His help, it is all possible.  

“….the truth is that it hurts because it’s real it hurts because it mattered and that’s an important thing to acknowledge to yourself.”  – John Green

John Green is one smart cookie! I wonder if his best thoughts come in the shower as well; the same as mine?!

I do hurt. It was real. It is real. It did matter. It still matters. It will always matter. Yet, I cannot allow myself to live in the Harder, Faster, and Farther. He can help me. At the foot of the cross, Jesus can and will see me through this. His plan is better than my own. I must remember that and allow myself to give my life to Him and trust in His plan. 

Lord, please watch over me, my path, my footsteps. I trust You. Your path, for my life. Your plan, for my life. I give it to You. Once again, I give my life to You. Find yourself hurting, aching, questioning? Give it to God. He cares. About each and every one of us. It is easy to forget this. To live our life as if we are alone. But, we are not. We are never alone. He is with us. Always. Every day, in every thing. Burdens and worries getting heavy? Give them to Him. Allow Him to carry them. I am planning to do the same with mine….

Originally Written 10Aug15
Leave a Reply

